Although the question of what gluten is answered in several different ways, it forms a large part of the storage proteins of grain seeds. It consists of two proteins called prolamin and glutelin. Gluten proteins are insoluble in water. Gluten is formed as a result of equal amounts of prolamin and glutelin proteins in the grain and combining with water. Bread, starch, pasta, flour, cake etc. Foods contain gluten due to its structure.
WHAT ARE GLUTEN DUE DISEASES?
WHAT OTHER DISEASES ARE RELATED TO GLUTEN?
Gluten, which is directly associated with diseases such as Celiac Disease (Gluten Enteropathy), Gluten Intolerance, Wheat Allergy, Gluten Ataxia, is indirectly associated with Autoimmune Diseases (Immune System Diseases).
WHAT IS A GLUTEN FREE DIET?
The gluten-free diet is primarily used for the treatment of gluten-related diseases. All gluten-containing foods are completely removed from the diet cover. Cereals containing gluten are also a good source of fiber and B group vitamins. The complete elimination of gluten-containing grains from the diet causes a decrease in the intake of B group vitamins (thiamine, niacin and pyridoxine) and fiber in grains. Therefore, while applying a gluten-free diet, gluten-free grain sources and legumes should be added to the diet to increase B group vitamins and fiber intake.
WHAT ARE GLUTEN SOURCES?
Wheat, bulgur, barley, rye, flour made from gluten-containing grains and foods made from such flours,
• Wheat Starch, Wheat Flour, Whole Grain or Whole Grain Flour, Wheat Flour
• Bulgur wheat
• Bread, lavash, pita bread, pastry, cake, pastry, pies, pasta, made with gluten-containing flours,
noodles, bagels, ice cream cone
• All breakfast cereals and packaged products without the gluten-free symbol
• Ready-made spice mixes
• Ready Soups
Foods that do not contain gluten in their structure, due to the risk of cross-contamination on the production line, and foods that do not have a gluten-free symbol should not be used in the gluten-free diet process.
WHAT ARE GLUTEN-FREE NATURAL FOODS?
• Chia (internal link)
• Dry beans
• Meat, Fish, Eggs
• Milk, Yogurt, Cheese, Ayran
• Butter, Oils,
• Ready-made products with the gluten-free symbol
• Raw nuts (processed nuts may be cross-contaminated during the production process.)